Ralph Lauren to be honoured with members salute at 2018 CFDA Awards

London - Ralph Lauren, one of the most memorable and iconic American designers, is set to be honoured with a special tribute during upcoming Council of Style Designers of America (CFDA) Style Awards.

Set to take plan on June 4, the CFDA will honour Ralph Lauren with the first ever Members Salute as the designer marks the 50th anniversary of his brand this year. The CFDA did not disclose what this special tribute entails but stated that it was a special honour, given to Ralph Lauren on "behalf of the CFDA's membership of over 500 womenswear, menswear, and accessory designers.

The CFDA lists many reasons why the designer is set to receive this award now, including his impact on American and global fashion, as well as his leadership and philanthropy. His unique position as a role model to many aspiring designers and that fact that a number of American designers, including Tory Burch, Vera Wang, and Reed Krakoff, worked for him before successfully starting on their own, further cements his role.

"From starting with a tie at Bloomingdale’s to building a global brand, I respect and admire everything that Ralph Lauren stands for, including his philanthropy and kindness," said CFDA Chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg in a statement. "This is the perfect moment for CFDA Members to salute this icon of American fashion."

The 2018 CFDA Style Awards is set to take place at the Brooklyn Museum and will be hosted by Issa Rae. Other individuals to be honoured at the Awards including Carolina Herrera, Donatella Versace, Edward Enninful, Narcisco Rodriguez and Diane von Furstenberg.

Image: Ralph Lauren Website


Related news